This iconic main street building was Dean Jewelers for many years. Originally the Carl Merckel Hardware and built in 1865, this striking two-story, Italianate style building of local limestone laid in broken range ashlar with dressed stone quoins and trim. The building had alterations made for the jewelry store in 1972 including; removal of part of the second floor to create a high-ceilinged store space, and a new ground-level storefront and replacement of the original window tracery of the three second-floor arched window opens with solar plate glass. There is an office in the second story and the full basement is used for storage.
The IDX information being provided by the Northeast Iowa Regional Board of REALTORS® is exclusively for consumers' personal, non-commercial use, and it may not be used for any purpose other than to identify prospective properties consumers may be interested in purchasing. The data is deemed reliable but is not guaranteed accurate by the MLS.
Listing information last updated on August 24th, 2019 at 9:23am CDT.